Meet the staff

Senior Leadership Team

Jamie Tickle
Headteacher

This is my second year as Headteacher at Abbot Beyne School. I was previously Principal of The Roundhill Academy in Thurmaston, Leicestershire for 7 years. Prior to that I was Head of School at Bluecoat in Nottingham. I am responsible for the overall leadership of the school, the vision and the ethos of the school and ensuring that everybody is the best version of themselves. I am a Maths teacher as well, I play 5 aside football once a week and I am attempting to run 1000 miles this year.


headteacher@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

James Church
Deputy Headteacher

I have loved working at Abbot Beyne since 2007 as an Assistant Headteacher then Deputy Headteacher from 2010.  I have taught many subjects over the years but predominantly Science, IT and Business.  I look after the Curriculum along with many other responsibilities as well as deputising for Mr Tickle should he be unavailable.  I always strive for the best for the students in my classes as well as the wider school.  I am a keen guitar player and, despite getting much slower over the years, still enjoy cycling regularly.


j.church@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Fiona Airey
Assistant Headteacher

I have worked at Abbot Beyne since September 2014 having previously worked as a SENCo in Sutton Coldfield. Prior to this I worked at a secondary school in Burton after starting my career in Doncaster.

I have responsibility for Inclusion which entails ensuring that all members of our school community are included in aspects of school life. I am the SENCO, the Safeguarding Lead and manage the Student Support Team

f.airey@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Lesley Timson
Director of Sixth Form/Assistant Headteacher

Having taught at Abbot Beyne School for over 25 years, I have carried out many roles including Head of MFL and Head of Year and probably taught many of your parents. I am now responsible for the leadership and management of the Sixth Form as well as Careers and PSHE provision. I also teach French, am a massive fan of Welsh Rugby and I plan to complete another 26-mile Macmillan Mighty Hike in the Peak District this year.


l.timson@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Gavin Holden
Assistant Headteacher

I have been Assistant Headteacher at Abbot Beyne since 2012. I am responsible for learning and teaching, staff training, and the whole-school digital learning strategy. I have been a history teacher for 23 years and have taught in Burton for most of my teaching career. I have previously been a Head of History and Politics as well as Head of Year.


Curriculum Leaders

Hannah Bithell
Director of Learning Communications Faculty

Communications Subjects – English, English Literature, English Language, Literacy, French and Media Studies


h.bithell@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Cate Winfield
Director of Learning Performance Faculty

Performance Subjects – PE, Drama, Music, Art,  and Photography


c.winfield@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Jason Stafford
Director of Learning Social Studies Faculty

Social Studies Subjects – Humanities: (Geography, History, RE) Psychology, Skills of Success, Sociology, Health and Social Care and PSHE


j.stafford@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Celina Lowe
Director of Learning STEM Faculty

STEM Subjects – Science: (Biology, Chemistry, Physics), IT, Maths, Design and Technology, Food Technology and Business Studies


c.lowe@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Jackie Wood
Pastoral Curriculum Lead

Responsible for Form Time, RSE, PSHE and the link between pastoral and curriculum


j.wood@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Pastoral Staff

Louisa Wright –
Head of Year 7


l.wright@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Rifat Hussain
Head of Year 8


r.hussain@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Nicola McLaren
Head of Year 9


n.mclaren@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Mike McHugh-Hicks –
Head of Key Stage 3


mike.mchugh-hicks@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Aneeka Ahmed –
Head of Year 10


a.ahmed@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Dawn Davies
Head of Year 11 and overview of KS4


d.davies@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Lorraine Lynch
Attendance Officer


l.lynch@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Ange Hancox
Safeguarding Lead


a.hancox@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Tina Jarvis
Assistant SENCo


t.jarvis@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

David Snowden
Enrichment Officer


d.snowden@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk

Jake Lynch
Bridge Co-ordinator


j.lynch@abbotbeyne.staffs.sch.uk