Meet the staff

Senior Leadership Team

Jamie Tickle

This is my fourth year as Headteacher at Abbot Beyne School. I was previously Principal of The Roundhill Academy in Thurmaston, Leicestershire for 7 years. Prior to that I was Head of School at Bluecoat in Nottingham. I am responsible for the overall leadership of the school, the vision and the ethos of the school and ensuring that everybody is the best version of themselves. I am a Maths teacher as well, I play 5 aside football once a week and I am attempting to run a half marathon this year.

James Church
Deputy Headteacher

I have loved working at Abbot Beyne School since 2007 as an Assistant Headteacher then Deputy Headteacher from 2010.  I have taught many subjects over the years but predominantly Science, IT and Business.  I look after the Curriculum along with many other responsibilities as well as deputising for Mr Tickle should he be unavailable.  I always strive for the best for the students in my classes as well as the wider school.  I am a keen guitar player and, despite getting much slower over the years, still enjoy cycling regularly.

Fiona Airey
Assistant Headteacher/DSL

I have worked at Abbot Beyne School since September 2014 having previously worked as a SENCo in Sutton Coldfield. Prior to this I worked at a secondary school in Burton after starting my career in Doncaster.

I have responsibility for Inclusion which entails ensuring that all members of our school community are included in aspects of school life. I am the SENCO, the Safeguarding Lead and manage the Student Support Team

Gavin Holden
Assistant Headteacher

I have been Assistant Headteacher at Abbot Beyne School since 2012. I am responsible for learning and teaching, staff training, and the whole-school digital learning strategy. I have been a history teacher for 25 years and have taught in Burton for most of my teaching career. I have previously been a Head of History and Politics as well as Head of Year.

Laura Pollitt
Head of Sixth Form

I joined Abbot Beyne as Assistant Headteacher in January 2024. I am the Head of Sixth Form and responsible for personal development across the school. I have been a business teacher across Staffordshire for 15 years and have held positions such as Head of Department and Head of Faculty, then moved into whole school leadership of strategies such as careers.



Curriculum Leaders

Hannah Bithell
Director of Learning
Communications Faculty

Communications Subjects – English, English Literature, English Language, Literacy, French and Media Studies

Cate Winfield
Director of Learning
Performance Faculty

Performance Subjects – PE, Drama, Music, Art,  and Photography

Jason Stafford
Director of Learning
Social Studies Faculty

Social Studies Subjects – Humanities: (Geography, History, RE) Psychology, Criminology, Onward Together, Sociology, Health and Social Care and PSHE

Celina Lowe –
Director of Innovation
Innovation Faculty

Subjects – Science: (Biology, Chemistry, Physics), Design and Technology and Food Technology.

Nicola Sutcliffe –
Director of Enterprise
Enterprise Faculty

Subjects – Maths, Economics, IT, Computing and Business Studies.

Jackie Wood
Pastoral Curriculum Lead

Responsible for Form Time, RSE, PSHE and the link between pastoral and curriculum

Pastoral Staff

Louisa Wright –
Head of Year 7

Chloe Gooding –
Head of Year 8

Andrew Moriarty
Head of Year 9

Caroline Cartwright –
Head of Year 10

Rukhsana Bi –
Head of Year 11

Mike McHugh-Hicks –
Head of Key Stage 3

Dawn Davies
Head of Key Stage 4

Rifat Hussain
Deputy DSL

Tina Jarvis
Assistant SENCo

Lorraine Lynch
Senior Attendance Officer

Shannon Statham –
Attendance Officer

David Snowden
Enrichment Coordinator

Jake Lynch
Bridge Coordinator